Board of Public Works

Recycling Center Hours: April

Wednesdays, 8:15 - 11:55AMSaturdays, 8:00AM - 2:00PM 

Mission Statement

Public Works in Fairhaven is governed by the five member, unpaid elected Board of Public Works Commissioners. The Board sets policy and establish the rules, regulations, fees, and procedures of the public works in the Town of Fairhaven. This also includes management and maintenance of the Town roadway, park and utility infrastructure systems, including: roads, parks, cemeteries, beach, bike paths, water, sewer, storm drainage, trash collection, vehicle maintenance, and recycling center.

The Board sets policy and establishes rules, regulations, fees, and procedures. The Commissioners are empowered with the duties and responsibilities of Water Commissioners, Sewer Commissioners, Park Commissioners, and Cemetery Commissioners, as provided under state law.

We strive to maintain and improve living conditions here in Fairhaven for our residents and provide value for our tax payers.

The Board of Public Works organization is divided into the following working groups:

  • Highway
  • Parks & Grounds
  • Water
  • Sewer / Wastewater
  • Administration

Click here to email the Board of Public Works.

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Vincent D. Furtado BPW Superintendent
John M. Charbonneau Highway Superintendent
Linda L. Schick Sewer Superintendent
Jeffrey Furtado Water Superintendent

Board Members

NameTitleTerm Expires
Frank Coelho



Brian Wotton



Robert D. Hobson

Vice- Chairman


Keith Silvia



Cameron Durant