

## Fairhaven Board of Selectmen

## Meeting Minutes July 30, 2020

**Present:** Chairman Daniel Freitas, Vice-Chairman Robert Espindola, Selectman Keith Silvia. Board of Health members Peter DeTerra and Michael Ristuccia and Cable Access Director Derek Frates

**Present via Zoom:**, Health Department Administrative Assistant Amanda Blais, Sheila Dolan, Geoff Haworth, Kevin Gallagher, Barbara Acksen, Brian Bowcock, Administrative Assistant Vicki Oliveira and Cable Production Coordinator Eric Sa and members of the public.

**Absent:** Town Administrator Mark Rees

The meeting was videotaped on Cable Access and Zoom meeting application.

Chairman Freitas opened the meeting at 6:31 pm in the Town Hall Banquet Room and read the following statement:

"This Open Meeting of the Fairhaven Board of Selectmen is being conducted remotely consistent with Governor Baker's Executive Order of March 12, 2020, due to the current State of Emergency in the Commonwealth due to the outbreak of the "COVID-19 Virus."

In order to mitigate the transmission of the COVID-19 Virus, we have been advised and directed by the Commonwealth to suspend public gatherings, and as such, the Governor's Order suspends the requirement of the Open Meeting Law to have all meetings in a publicly accessible physical location. Further, all members of public bodies are allowed and encouraged to participate remotely.

The Order, which you can find posted with agenda materials for this meeting allows public bodies to meet entirely remotely so long as reasonable public access is afforded so that the public can follow along with the deliberations of the meeting.

Ensuring public access does not ensure public participation unless such participation is required by law. This meeting will allow public comment related to the posted agenda items only. For this meeting, Fairhaven Board of Selectmen is convening by telephone conference/video conference via Zoom App as posted on the Town's Website identifying how the public may join.

#### **Approval of Poll Workers**

Mr. Espindola made a motion to approve the poll workers for the State Primary on September 1, 2020 with early voting on August 22, 23 & August 24-28, 2020, The Presidential Election on November 3, 2020 with early voting on October 17, 18 and October 19-23, October 26-30, 2020. (Attachment A)

Mr. Silvia seconded. Vote was unanimous. (3-0)

### **Board of Health vacancy**

In a joint meeting members of the Board of Health, Peter DeTerra and Michael Ristuccia, met with the Board of Selectmen to appoint someone to fill the vacant seat most recently held by Michael Silvia. The position will only be filled until the next town election and then will have to be placed on the ballot.

The five candidates for the open seat, Sheila Dolan, Geoff Haworth, Kevin Gallagher, Barbara Acksen and Brian Bowcock were interviewed by the board members and each expressed why they felt they would be the best person for this position. Both Boards thanked the candidates for expressing an interest in this position.

Mr. DeTerra nominated Geoff Haworth. Mr. Ristuccia nominated Geoff Haworth.

Mr. Espindola nominated Kevin Gallagher. Mr. Silvia nominated Brian Bowcock. Mr. Freitas nominated Geoff Haworth

Mr. DeTerra made a motion to appoint Geoff Haworth to the vacant seat. Mr. Ristuccia seconded. Vote passed. (3-2)

Roll Call Vote was taken as follows:

Mr. DeTerra in favor, Mr. Risutccia in favor, Mr. Espindola not in favor, Mr. Silvia not in favor. Mr. Freitas in favor.

Mr. Haworth was appointed the Board of Health by a 3-2 vote to continue the term until the next town election in April of 2021.

At 7:46 Mr. Espindola made a motion to adjourn. Mr. Silvia seconded. Vote was unanimous. (3-0)

Respectfully submitted,

Wicke & Olivera

Vicki L. Oliveira

Administrative Assistant (Approved 08/17/2020)

Attachments:

A: Poll Workers – State Primary

# **POLL WORKERS**

NAME
Alfonse, Christine
Amaral, Maria O.
Bachand, Lee
Belliveau, Sandra
Bisson, Michele
Botelho, Diane
Burgo, Elaine
Chevalier, David
Chevalier, Linda
Costa, Bernadette
Crawford, Anna
Cunha, Mary
Delano-Calamari, Catherine
Devlin-Riley, Emily
Diggle, George
Dulin, Jacqueline
Ellis, Anne
Fauteux, Carole
Gluesing, Karen
Gomes, Brenda
Grace, Mary
Greene, Pamela
Gwozdz, Grace M.
Lavallee, Madeleine
LeBlanc, Sandra
Letts, Michelle
Melanson, Cathy
Mello, Joan
Meredith, Terrence
Millette, Claire
Mimoso, Kim
Miranda, Janet
Miranda, David
Moniz, Lisa
Nichols, Linda
Parker, Pauline
Pasquill, Elaine
Perry, Nancy
Perry, Nona
Richard, Deborah
Rocha, Diane
Rocha, Elaine
Rose, Brian
Rose, Janice
Shifman, Diane S.

# **POLL WORKERS**

Soares, Robert
Smith, Brendalee
StMarie-Johnson, Freda
Sylvia, Elizabeth
Therrien, Linda
Thomas, Michael W.
Thomas, Rachel
Varley, Sarah
Vieira, Carl
Vieira, Tammy
Winnett, Heidi
Yarmac, Mary