

## Commonwealth of Massachusetts

## **Division of Marine Fisheries**

251 Causeway Street, Suite 400 Boston, Massachusetts 02114 (617) 626-1520 fax (617) 626-1509

October 11, 2019

Honorable Coastal Mayors and Select Boards of Towns of Cohasset,
Scituate, Marshfield, Duxbury, Kingston, Plymouth, Sandwich, Barnstable,
Yarmouth, Dennis, Brewster, Orleans, Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro, Provincetown,
Chatham, Harwich, Mashpee, Falmouth, Gosnold, Nantucket, Aquinnah, Chilmark,
West Tisbury, Tisbury, Oak Bluffs, Edgartown, Bourne, Wareham, Marion,
Mattapoisett, Fairhaven, New Bedford, Dartmouth, Westport, Fall River, Swansea, Freetown
And Somerset.

Ladies and Gentlemen:

In accordance with Chapter 130, Section 74A of the Massachusetts General Laws, the Division of Marine Fisheries has determined that those areas listed below, closed due to a storm on October 10, 2019, will meet the National Shellfish Sanitation Program guidelines for an "OPEN" status as of sunrise on October 13, 2019.

Therefore under authority of MGL, Chapter 130, Section 74A, the below-listed areas will revert to their former status prior to the closure of October 10, 2019 **effective at sunrise on Sunday, October 13, 2019**.

Those areas previously classified as "APPROVED" and in the "OPEN" status prior to the October 10, 2019 shellfish closure will revert to their previous status at sunrise on October 13, 2019 and open to the harvest of shellfish for direct human consumption subject to local rules and regulations under authority of MGL Chapter 130, Section 52.

Similarly, those areas previously classified as "CONDITIONALLY APPROVED" and in the "OPEN" status prior to the October 10, 2019 shellfish closure will revert to their previous status on October 13, 2019, subject to the previous status conditions. Areas classified as "PROHIBITED" shall remain closed to the harvest of shellfish for direct human consumption.

## STATUS: OPEN TO THE TAKING OF ALL SHELLFISH AS DEFINED BELOW Effective at sunrise on October 13, 2019

"The waters, flats and all tributaries of the following Cities and Towns: of Cohasset, Scituate, Marshfield, Duxbury, Kingston, Plymouth, Sandwich, Barnstable, Yarmouth, Dennis, Brewster, Orleans, Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro, Provincetown, Chatham, Harwich, Mashpee, Falmouth, Gosnold, Nantucket, Aquinnah, Chilmark, West Tisbury, Tisbury, Oak Bluffs, Edgartown, Bourne, Wareham, Marion, Mattapoisett, Fairhaven, New Bedford, Dartmouth, Westport, Fall River, Swansea, Freetown And Somerset. This includes MB1-MB14, CCB1-CCB51, OC1-OC10, SC1-SC64, NS1-4, NT1-NT14, V1-V36, E1-E14, MHB1- MHB5 and BB1-BB58.



## Sincerely,

David E. Pierce,

David E. Pierce, Director

cc: P. Moran, DELE

D. McKiernan, M. Hickey, J. Kennedy, T. Shields, DMF

R. Amidon, M. King, DFG

J. Hobill, S. King, DEP

FDA

**DPH** 

Shellfish Constables of the cities and towns listed above