

Fairhaven Sustainability Committee August 20, 2019 Meeting Minutes

Present: Whitney McClees, Anne O'Brien, Deirdre Healy, Ann Richard, Wendy Drumm, Susan Spooner

Not Present: Lois Callahan, Karen Gent, Denise Barr, Marcus Ferro, Marianne Murray.

Chairperson Ann Richard called the meeting to order in the Town Hall Banquet Room at 6:33 p.m. The meeting was video recorded by the Cable Access department.

MINUTES

• Ms. Drumm motioned to approve the minutes of the July 16, 2019 meeting. Ms. Spooner seconded. Vote was unanimous. (5-0)

PLASTIC FREE ECO CHALLENGE CONCLUSION

Ms. McClees reported that Team Southcoast ended 34th worldwide out of over 700 teams in the plastic free July Drawdown EcoChallenge. Results were shared on the Sustainability Committee Facebook page. The People's EcoChallenge is forthcoming in October. It will focus on general sustainability engagement.

SUSTAINABILITY CAFÉ

The café discussion group is slated for second Saturdays from 12:30 pm to 2:30 pm. The group planned to start with the first café in October, to allow time to plan and advertise. The first session will be held on Saturday, October 12.

COMPOSTING PROGRAM

Discussion ensued on the interest that may exist in Town for the creation of a curbside compost pick up program. The group will research and revisit the topic at a subsequent meeting.

NEXT MEETINGS

There is a conflict with another board for October 15 for meeting space. The group considered changing the October meeting date to October 22 instead. A decision on this reschedule will be made at the September 17 Sustainability Meeting.

MEMBER RESIGNATION

Both Marcus Ferro and Denise Barr have indicated that they are unable to continue being members of the Sustainability Committee. Their resignation letters will be forwarded to the Board of Selectmen for acceptance and to formalize vacancies on the committee.

There will be another beach clean-up on September 21 at Fort Phoenix with "Be the Solution to Pollution".

Ms. Drumm motioned to adjourn at 7:13 pm. Ms. Healy seconded. Vote was unanimous. (5-0)

Respectfully submitted,

Anne O'Brien

Anne O'Brien